Hall of Fame
"The ASA Hall of Fame was established to honor those sportscasters who have achieved excellence in the field of sportscasting. Since 1984, annual Hall of Fame induction ceremonies have been held to recognize the abilities of the world's top sportscasters. Their accomplishments will be recognized and perpetuated in the ASA Hall of Fame."
-- Dick Enberg, ASA Chairman

The ASA Hall of Fame memorialized the illustrious careers of those who gave voice to sports history's greatest moments. The Hall of Fame was officially opened on February 26, 1998, and was located in the MCI National Sports Gallery in Washington, D.C. It featured rare memorabilia, the greats on interactive display, and it traced the history of sports broadcasting since its inception in the early 1920's. A popular attraction allowed fans to recreate early radio broadcasts from a scrolling LED board or dial their favorite sportscasters' most famous calls.

(The 25,000 sq. ft. National Sports Gallery located in the MCI Center in Washington, D.C., was officially closed in 2000 to make room for office space.)

The ASA is actively pursuing a new space in which to house its Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame Members
1999 1998 1997 1996 1995
Pat Summerall Ray Scott Jack Whitaker Chris Schenkel Chick Hearn
1994 1993 1992 1991 1990
Keith Jackson Howard Cosell
Marty Glickman
Vin Scully Ernie Harwell Jack Buck
1989 1988 1987 1986 1985
Harry Caray -- Clem McCarthy
Jim McKay
Lindsey Nelson Mel Allen
Jack Brickhouse
Curt Gowdy
Walter Lanier (Red) Barber    Don Dunphy    Edward Britt (Ted) Husing    Graham McNamee    Bill Stern   
Hall of Fame Nominee Selection Committee
Dick Enberg
Pat Summerall
Curt Gowdy
Ernie Harwell
Keith Jackson
Jim McKay
Jon Miller
Jim Nantz
Chris Schenkel
Lou Schwartz
Vin Scully
Jack Whitaker