About Us


The American Sportscasters Association (ASA) is dedicated to promoting, supporting and enhancing the work of our member sportscasters. In addition, we are a resource of information and guidance for those interested in becoming a sportscaster. ASA, founded in 1980, always encourages the highest standards of ethics, integrity and professional conduct.

Through the ASA Hall of Fame and the Annual Hall of Fame Awards Dinner, we proudly recognize the achievements of outstanding sportscasters by honoring the Hall of Fame inductee, the Sportscasters of the Year, along with other honorees. Some of the awards presented are: Sports Legend, Sports Personality, Humanitarian Award and the International Sportscaster of the Year. In addition, ASA publicly honors other notable individuals who have had an impact on society and the world of sports.

The Graham McNamee Award is presented to a former sportscaster who has achieved excellence in another field of endeavor. The first time this award was presented was in 1984 to President Ronald Reagan.

The Mel Allen Service Award is presented to an individual who shows outstanding leadership in public service. The first time this award was presented was in 1998 to Ronald M. Shapiro.

The ASA Hall of Fame memorialized the illustrious careers of those who gave voice to sports history's greatest moments. The Hall of Fame was officially opened on February 26, 1998, and was located in the MCI National Sports Gallery in Washington, D.C. It featured rare memorabilia, the greats on interactive display, and it traced the history of sports broadcasting since its inception in the early 1920's. A popular attraction allowed fans to recreate early radio broadcasts from a scrolling LED board or dial their favorite sportscasters' most famous calls.

(The 25,000 sq. ft. National Sports Gallery located in the MCI Center in Washington, D.C., was officially closed in 2000 to make room for office space.)

The ASA is actively pursuing a new space in which to house its Hall of Fame.

Officers & Board of Directors

Dick Enberg (CBS Sports), Chairman of the Board

Louis O. Schwartz, President & Founder

Curt Gowdy (ABC Sports), Vice President

Jon Miller (ESPN / Voice of the San Francisco Giants)

Jim Nantz (CBS Sports)

Don Dunphy (Voice of Boxing)
deceased 1998

Jack Brickhouse (Voice of the Chicago Cubs)
deceased 1998


Advisory Board

Marv Albert - MSG Network & TNT Sports

Len Clark, University of Evansville

Scott Clark - WABC-TV Anchor

Bob Costas - NBC Sports

Donna de Varona - formerly of ABC Sports

Merle Harmon - ABC/NBC Baseball Announcer, retired

Tommy Heinsohn - Fox Sports/Boston Celtics

Gary McKillips - Georgia State University

Jeannie Morris - Adventure Divas

Bob Murphy - New York Mets

Robin Roberts - ESPN

Bill Schweizer - ESPN Radio/New Haven Ravens

Pat Summerall - Fox Sports

Lesley Visser - CBS Sports

Dick Vitale - ESPN

Bill Walton - ABC Sports



Main About Us Annual Dinner Hall of Fame Our Members

Becoming a Sportscaster Newsletter Articles of Interest Membership

Facts & Trivia Contact Us


1999 American Sportscasters Association, Inc.